Alex Iwobi was very clearly clipped by Javier Mascherano during our Champions League second leg clash with Barcelona, and really should have had a penalty. Many on social media seem to disagree though, and the youngster was even accused of making the “worst dive ever” (via The Independent).
The commentators and Howard Webb agreed that the youngster was unlucky not to get a penalty, claiming that the referee had made a real mistake. Iwobi could clearly be seen tripping over his own feet in the box, which is why everyone immediately jumped down his throat. The reason he tripped in the first place was Mascherano catching his heels from behind though, and whether intentional or not, it definitely should have been a penalty.
Despite being caught by the versatile Argentine though, the internet were positive it was a horrendous dive from the teen star.
— TRIPPY (@laminelson__) 16 March 2016
Iwobi was arguably one of our brightest players during the early stages of the game, and has shown time and time again that he’s ready to make the step up to the first team.
Arsenal transfer news
- Reports: Arsenal Star Left National Team Early In Protest Of Poor Transport Conditions
- Robert Pires Reveals What Emery’s Two Main Objectives Are For Arsenal This Season
- Reports: Arsenal Become Shock Front Runners For Wantaway Chelsea Star
Hopefully he’s not destroyed like so many young players have been, and he continues his meteoric rise at Arsenal.