The Spaniard saw red after clashing with former teammate Marouane Chamakh 35-yards from goal in what seemed like a tangle of bodies. But referee Chris Foy viewed it as denying a clear goal scoring opportunity despite the incident happening on the edge of the final third.
The 31 year old believes that the dismissal was the wrong decision while insisting his red card could have cost them three points in the game.
Speaking to the Arsenal official website, he said:
It was a very harsh decision to send me off. Chamakh kicks my fight foot, I have seen it on television. It is 40 yards away from goal too.
It is true that I tried to block him with my hand but then he came with his left foot into my right calf and then we were both on the floor. It was never a tackle from me.
It was the most important period of the game. There was always uncertainty we could always get caught. When we scored the first we were on top of the game, that decision changed the game and we were in trouble. But thankfully we held the result, we scored a second and we won the game.
Arteta who scored from the penalty spot prior to his dismissal, will now miss the midweek Capital One Cup tie against Chelsea. The Gunners are unlikely to appeal the decision as he was set to be rested for the game any way. The Spaniard will be back for the crucial game against Liverpool at the Emirates on Saturday.
- Agent of exiled Mesut Ozil warns Arsenal that the truth will be revealed
- Arsenal overtaken by new frontrunners to sign Houssem Aouar in January
- Ex-Arsenal star favouring a move to America’s MLS to restart career
There is no way that was a red card. Firstly Chamakh was not in a clear goal scoring opportunity. His teammate Guedioura who was steaming down the middle typically played the ball well to the right, so there was no way he was ever going to make that cut back across to his team mate. Secondly, Arteta didn’t even foul him it was the Crystal Palace forward who himself came rushing towards the Spaniard and got tangled up.
Arteta is absolutely right and the referee’s decision could have cost Arsenal the game. The Gunners demonstrated excellent resilience in maintaining the lead, but if we get decisions like that in big matches then it will probably be a lot more costly.
Did you feel Arteta deserved the red card? Share your thoughts in the comments below.